Q&A with Dan Osterbrook: Twins Pitching Prospect

30 Dec

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

Good morning everyone! Thank you very much for again stopping by SethSpeaks.net. I hope you all have had a great 2008, and that 2009 brings you much more positive times.

 

In case you missed it yesterday, there is plenty of new SethSpeaks information. I did a Live Chat yesterday afternoon for about 100 minutes. I was able to answer a lot of questions, and if you want to read the entire chat, click here. Then last night, we had another SethSpeaks.net Weekly Minnesota Twins podcast. By clicking here, you can listen to the whole show. Guests included Twins pitching prospects Kyle Waldrop, Jeff Manship and Twins blogger Parker Hageman of Over the Baggy.

 

And with that at your finger tips, I am excited to announce today’s Q&A with another Twins pitching prospect, lefty Dan Osterbrook. The Twins drafted him out of the University of Cincinnati in the 7th round. He went to Elizabethton and pitched so well that he was named the Appalachian League Pitcher of the Year. He is a control artist who simply knows how to pitch. He is another successful college pitcher in the Twins system, and it will be fun to watch how he develops as he moves up through the organization. I thought it would be fun to find out more about him, and what his philosophies are on pitching. I think he did a great job responding, and hope you will enjoy it!

 

To check out the career stats of Dan Osterbrook, click here. I think you will enjoy Dan’s responses. (Click here to see previous Q&As)

 

Let the Questions Begin!

SethSpeaks: Growing up in Cincinnati, do I even need to ask who your favorite team was. Who were some of your favorite players to follow?

 

Dan Osterbrook: The Cincinnati Reds have always been my favorite team ever since I began following major league baseball back in 1994. My family had a greenhouse business and some of my fondest memories as a kid were picking tomatoes with my grandpa and listening to the Reds on the radio when they made it to the playoffs in 1995. I would have to say that Bret Boone was my favorite player at that time.

 

SethSpeaks: Tell us a little about your high school career. Did you play other positions besides pitching?

 

Dan Osterbrook: I played my high school ball at Colerain High School. We were more of a football school so baseball was overlooked. I really doubt that too many of my classmates know I was drafted. We were 7-17 my senior year and I actually had a losing record as a pitcher (4-5). When I wasn’t pitching I played centerfield and some first base.

 

SethSpeaks: Did you participate in other activities in high school?

 

Dan Osterbrook: I never seriously played any other sports. I enjoy playing basketball but was never that good at it so I just played rec basketball with my friends and I would scrimmage the high school girls basketball team to help them out.

 

SethSpeaks: You stayed home and went to the University of Cincinnati. Were you heavily recruited, or was that an easy choice for you?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Going to the University of Cincinnati was an easy decision for me because I’ve always been a huge fan of the Bearcats. My dream as a kid was to play basketball at UC for Bob Huggins but unfortunately I wasn’t that good and I stopped growing. I was only recruited by colleges around the Ohio area but even if bigger schools had recruited me I still would’ve stayed home and gone to UC. A few years back I got the school’s logo tattooed on my back, so I’m a Bearcat for life.

 

S ethSpeaks:  You went 18-3 your final two seasons as a Bearcat. Those must have been some pretty solid teams playing behind you. Tell us about those seasons.

 

Dan Osterbrook: These past few years playing for the University of Cincinnati have been the greatest baseball days of my life so far. I’ve been lucky to be surrounded by great coaches and teammates. This past year we set a school record for most wins in a season and made it to the conference championship game. Even though we were one win away from making it to the national tournament we had a very successful year and I have many great memories.

 

SethSpeaks: You had good control your first two seasons in college, but during your junior season, you had 10 walks and 74 strikeouts in 99 innings pitched. Did something click mechanically or mentally that made finding that kind of control achievable?

 

Dan Osterbrook: I never really changed anything through my college career. My coaches Brian Cleary and Chris Reilly always preached that teams, no matter how good they are, are not going to hit their way into a lot of runs. Teams score their runs when pitchers give up too many walks. They would tell me that if I threw strikes and the defense did their part then I would have success. As a team we were second in the nation in fewest walks allowed and won 39 games so they were right.

 

SethSpeaks: What was your college major, and do you intend to continue your education?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Since I grew up around tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce at my family’s greenhouse business I decided I wanted to follow in my grandpa’s footsteps so I majored in horticulture in hopes to one day continue the business. Unfortunately due to rising costs in heating and decreasing demand of produce we went out of business. So right now I’m not sure if I should continue with horticulture or look for a different career path.

 

SethSpeaks: The Twins drafted you in the 7th round in June. Had you been talking to the Twins and their scouts, or were other teams talking to you a lot?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Throughout my junior year I was talking to a lot of teams but Jeremy Booth, the Twins’ scout that covered the Cincinnati area, seemed to show the most interest. As draft day neared I sat down and had lunch with Jeremy and that’s when it became evident to me that there was a strong possibility that the Twins might draft me.

 

SethSpeaks: What was the draft like for you, knowing you would be drafted sometime? Where were you expecting to be selected?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Like I said before, we had a lot of success this past year at Cincinnati so my focus wasn’t on the draft. The only thing I was concerned about was winning a Big East Championship but I did hear from a few scouts that I might get drafted in rounds 6-10 so when I went in the 7th round it didn’t come as a surprise.

 

SethSpeaksYou reported to Elizabethton and pitched incredibly. You were named the Appalachian League Pitcher of the Year. Can you describe the on-field adjustment between Division I baseball and the Appalachian League?

 

Dan Osterbrook: After my second or third start In Elizabethton I learned that rookie ball was a lot different than college. It seemed as though the young hitters of rookie ball were trying to live up to their reputations as being power hitters or line drive hitters so I was able to take advantage of their impatience at the plate by expanding the zone and getting them to chase at bad pitches. In college, the teams played more small ball which was the complete opposite style as pro ball.

 

SethSpeaks: What were the adjustments off the field to becoming a professional baseball player and that lifestyle (bus rides, pay checks, etc.)?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Moving to Elizabethton was the first time I ever moved out of Cincinnati so I was a bit nervous but more eager to get away and see what life outside of Cincinnati was like. I lived in a house with Shooter Hunt, and three Australians, James Beresford, Jarrod Eacott, and Brad Tippett. This was also the first time I’ve ever played with Hispanics but it was fun trying to learn some Spanish while playing with them. Getting my first pay check was an unusual feeling because I was being paid to do something that I’ve always loved but it’s something I can get use to.

 

SethSpeaks: 8 walked, 104 strikeouts in 75 innings. Again, those numbers are amazing at any level. Obviously “control” and not allowing free passes is a big part of your pitching style. Tell us a little more about your pitching philosophy. What are you thinking when you’re preparing for a game and then on the mound?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Well I haven’t been an overpowering pitcher since high school so in college I learned how to pitch rather than just throw the ball. So my philosophy is simple: Throw the ball over the plate while not letting them hit it too hard and then let my defense make the play. It has worked so I don’t plan on changing anytime soon. My goal every time I take the mound is to put my team in a position where they can win the game without doing too much.

 

SethSpeaks: What pitches do you throw? Which pitches are you working on, and which pitch do you consider your “out-pitch?”

 

Dan Osterbrook: I throw a fastball, change-up, slider, and curve. This past summer I started trying a new grip for my curve so I can locate it better and my out pitch is the change. I like to pitch backwards a lot. Start off with a couple change-ups then finish them with a fastball.

 

SethSpeaks: What were your goals coming into the Appy League, and how did you feel about your pro debut?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Coming into the Appy League I had no idea what the competition would be like so if I told you I was expecting to be pitcher of the year then I’d be lying. I didn’t set my goals high, I just wanted to compete and fit in. I’m very proud of my accomplishments this past year but I’m aware that one good year isn’t going to guarantee me a shot at the majors so I have to continue to work hard and stay healthy and hope for many more years like this one.

 

SethSpeaks: The E-Twins had another remarkable season, and you were instrumental in the team winning the Appy League championship. Talk a little about the talent on the team and what it was like to be a part of it?

 

Dan Osterbrook:

This E-Town team was probably the most talented team that I’ve ever played on. We did not have a single weak link on the team. Almost every guy on the team had some college experience so whenever a player got hurt we had another skilled player right behind him. This was the first ever championship I’ve ever won so this was a memorable team.

 

SethSpeaks: What have you done during the offseason? After a long year of baseball, were you able to get away from the game for awhile, and when do you start preparing for the 2009 season?

 

Dan Osterbrook: After the long year I definitely had to get away so I went back to work at Spring Grove Cemetery where I’ve been working for the past five years. It’s the second largest cemetery in the nation (733 acres) so there’s plenty of grass to cut or trees to plant or people to bury to keep my mind off baseball. I’ve already started running to get my body in shape and I’m going to start throwing again in January.

 

SethSpeaks: The Twins have had a lot of success drafting college pitchers (Scott Baker, Kevin Slowey, Glen Perkins, Matt Garza, etc.). They are known as an organization that does a great job of developing pitchers. Is that exciting for you, or a challenge, something that you look forward to?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Knowing that the Twins have a reputation of finding talented pitchers and making them great is definitely exciting and I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of pitcher I turn out to be.

 

SethSpeaks: Have you set any goals for yourself for 2009? Are there certain statistics that you look at?

 

Dan Osterbrook: I haven’t set any goals yet but I would like to stay healthy and put up the same numbers as I did this past year while trying to lower my ERA. A statistic that I think is overlooked a lot is WHIP because it takes into consideration not just how many hits you give up in an inning but also walks so I look at that one a lot and try to keep it as low as possible.

 

SethSpeaks: Favorite Baseball Book?

 

Dan Osterbrook: Never read one.

 

SethSpeaks: Favorite Baseball Movie?

 

Dan Osterbrook: The Natural.

 

SethSpeaks: Is there anything else you think that Twins fans might find interesting about you?

 

Dan Osterbrook: If baseball doesn’t work out I might consider a career being a mortician.

 

 

A thank you goes to Dan Osterbrook for taking the time to answer these questions. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to put them in the comments below, or e-mail me and I will try to get a response. Have a great New Years!

7 Responses to “Q&A with Dan Osterbrook: Twins Pitching Prospect”

  1. roger December 31, 2008 at 7:48 am #

    Seth, this has to be a first for you. A young player who is an experience horticulturist who just may end up being a Mortician! Should Dan continue working off-season to become a licensed mortician, can you imagine all the nicknames the blogosphere will come up for him?

    Another great look at a young man who could have a great future with the Twins. Thanks Seth and Happy New Year!

  2. thrylos98 December 31, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    Dan had the best season by any pitcher in the Twins’ organization last year. I hope that soon he will become a mortician practicing his trade in the majors.

    Great interview Seth!

  3. mike wants wind December 31, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    Great interview Dan. Here’s hoping you continue to progress in your career. Frankly, if you don’t, I hope you find a way to be in the horticulture business. This country needs more US grown produce.

    Thanks for taking the time to interact with the fans…

  4. cmathewson December 31, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Well, he will have a couple of good nicknames if he makes it to the majors: The Grave Digger or the Undertaker.

    Who knows, he could end up being another Jamie Moyer. That might delay his career in mortuary science by about 20 years.

  5. Greg December 31, 2008 at 11:41 pm #

    He has never read a baseball book?! Seth, get him a copy of your book quick – the next time he’s asked the question about his favorite baseball book…

    P.S. – Anyone who hasn’t bought Seth’s book yet, do it. It might not revolutionize baseball books like Bill James’ Baseball Abstract books did, bit it’s darned good and very useful. (It’s also a small price to pay to encourage Seth to keep writing this stuff for us.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Q&A with Dan Rohlfing: Twins Catching Prospect « SethSpeaks.net - January 12, 2009

    [...] answer these questions. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to put them in the comments below, or e-mail me and I will try to get a response. Have a great [...]

  2. Q&A with BJ Hermsen: Twins Pitching Prospect « SethSpeaks.net - January 21, 2009

    [...] up the Twins system. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to put them in the comments below, or e-mail me and I will try to get a response. Have a great [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

