My New Blog

28 Feb

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

OK, SethSpeaks.net isn’t going anywhere, so don’t worry… but I do have a new blog. Last week, I was asked if I would be interested in having a blog at the Star Tribune Your Voices location. Honestly, I didn’t really know anything about it, but after finding out what it is, I think it’s pretty neat. They have a few dozen bloggers from many areas of society, many disciplines. I’m a lowly sports blogger, but women’s hockey great Natalie Darwitz has a blog, there are artists, business people, politicians, doctors and others in there.

 

I will primarily be writing blog postings related to sports, but sometimes I will be able to branch into other arenas, and I am excited about that. My first blog entry was posted earlier this morning. It is called Jumping in Head First. It’s basically an introduction to me, but it is followed by a short posting on something that baseball bloggers probably shouldn’t be writing about, politics and the national deficit. But oh well. It’s fun. And again, SethSpeaks.net isn’t going anywhere. You can expect to see everything remain the same here.

 

So take a minute and bookmark not only the Star Tribune’s Seth Stohs blog, but all of the Star Tribune Your Voices bloggers

4 Responses to “My New Blog”

  1. thrylos98 February 28, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

    Congrats, Seth! Well deserved.

  2. RyanW March 3, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    Seth,

    Congrats on the new site.

    Although, I am a little confused by your confusion about deficits. Balanced budgets are about the last thing you would want in an economic climate like this (see Hoover raising taxes and cutting spending after stock market crash). Conservatives call for tax cuts, liberals for spending increases- both of which will raise the deficit and create some form of economic stimulus. The real question is if stimulus should be more tilted towards tax cuts or spending. Obama has chosen to do some of both, but more spending.

    The premise is that our consumption of goods and services is below our capacity to produce them. We are at a point of market falure. We either let markets correct (think first few years of Great Depression- Grapes of Wrath stuff) or the governtment takes an active role in either increasing private consumption (tax cuts) or increasing consumption of public goods (spending on roads, bridges, energy programs, education, etc). A lot of economists think that FDR actually didn’t do enough early on, not until we got involved in WWII and engaged in massive government spending on the war did we finally crawl out of the mess we were in.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Update « SethSpeaks.net - February 28, 2009

    [...] And again, be sure to scroll down to read all about My New Blog. Oh, and tomorrow, I may announce another such [...]

  2. Quick Updates « SethSpeaks.net - March 2, 2009

    [...] I mentioned on Saturday, My New Blog. It should be fun to write for the Star-Tribune once a week or so, and be able to branch out a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

