Twins Top 50 Prospects Part 1: 36-50

2 Jun

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

It is that time again. With Major League Baseball’s June Draft set to take place next week, I am updating my Top 50 Twins Prospects list. I like to do this before the June draft because we have nearly two more months of data to consider, but also so that the Twins draft choices to not sneak into this list. I will discuss some of their selections next week, but this allows me to highlight several more players who deserve to be recognized as well. Everyone believes that their personal prospect list is the best. I try my best to be accurate and fair in these rankings. However, Prospect Ranking may be one of the most inexact sciences around. Think about it. Mark Prior was supposed to be great, and injuries derailed what could have been. Baseball America ranked Nick Blackburn #1 before the 2008 season, and most with and around the Twins chuckled. I think we are all happy that John Manuel looks like a genius on that one. Another purpose for making this list, for me, is simply to recognize players in the Twins system that deserve to be known. As I type that, I realize there are another 150 or so Twins minor leaguers that also deserve to be recognized, but I think I might lose some of you if I ran a Top 180 Twins prospect list. (That’s the purpose of the Minnesota Twins Prospect Handbook anyway, right?) These guys are all working hard to reach the ultimate goal of playing in the big leagues.

That said, lists are fun. Rankings are a blast. They create discussion and that is the best part about being a blogger. So, please let me know what you think. In the next days, I will continue to work my way up the Twins prospect list until finally giving you my selections for the Top 10 Twins prospects. I hope you enjoy this and again, please feel free to comment.

But, to check out my rankings, you will need to click here and go to www.SethSpeaks.net.

5 Responses to “Twins Top 50 Prospects Part 1: 36-50”

  1. DH in Philly June 2, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    Seth -

    I hope Whit Robbins gets some ink in the top 35. He has had a really nice year and in my mind has re-established himself as a prospect. 2007, his first season in high A, was his only bad year. He has handled the jump to AA quite nicely. Too bad his most likely position is 1B, where hopefully he would be blocked for many, many years.

  2. TT June 2, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    “I think we are all happy that John Manuel looks like a genius on that one.”

    Blackburn still looks like the number 4 or 5 starter everyone thought he was. If someone evaluates the major league careers of the prospects in the system in 2008, Blackburn may not even be in the top ten. I wouldn’t trade Span for Blackburn now.

  3. John June 2, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Blackburn definitely was over-ranked by BBA but in Manuel’s defense, it was a pretty tough year to rank Twins’ prospects; minor differences in how to weight readiness vs. potential would switch things around a lot.

    One guy who sticks out in Seth’s update is Ladendorf- the GCL is more like instructional league and stats are meaningless at that level. He’s a very talented prospect and is at least a top 20 prospect, and I could see him around 15 or so.

    Portes and Soto have decent cases to be a bit higher but they are appropriately grouped with fringe-types.

  4. Funkytown June 3, 2009 at 7:17 am #

    I think Steedley is rated too low, Rainville too high.

    Steedley is a lefty reliever..and guys who can get outs in the bullpen like he is, are gold. Steedley needs to move up.

    Rainville, post injury, is nowhere near the pitcher earlier and it’s reflected in the numbers. He’s going to continue to be up and down in AA. It’s unfortunate.

  5. clutterheart June 3, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    Tyler Ladendorf is still EST???
    That seems pretty bad for a 21 year old 2nd round pick…

    But wait. Its our Twins. They must be waiting for him to hit .400 two years in a row before moving him out of there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

