Spring Training Q&A: Nick Lockwood

7 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

As I pointed out in the Minnesota Twins 2010 Prospect Handbook, the Twins like drafting college pitchers and high school hitters. The Twins went the college route in 2009. The first high school bat taken was in the 9th round, and it was infielder Nick Lockwood. On March 13, he will begin his first minor league spring training with the Twins.  Today we’ll try to learn a little more about him.

Here is today’s Q&A with Twins infielder, Nick Lockwood. (To see all previous SethSpeaks.net Q&As, click here) (and feel free to leave questions or comments here)

…Let the Questions Begin!

SethSpeaks: Now that you’ve had a few months to look back and reflect, what are your thoughts on your 2009 season?

Nick Lockwood: The 2009 season was a great learning experience for me. The coaches were great and worked with me a lot on transitioning me into the pro game.

SethSpeaks: What do you do when you’re not playing baseball or working out in preparation for the upcoming season?

Nick Lockwood: When I’m not playing baseball or working out for the season i spend a lot of time with my family and friends but even then the discussion is usually baseball oriented.

SethSpeaks: When did you start getting ready for the 2010 season, and what was your routine?

Nick Lockwood: I started getting ready for the season a week or two after I got home from instructional league. I worked out for a month or so then started hitting and throwing as well, once I had gotten a little rest.

SethSpeaks: What are your goals for the 2010 season? Where would you like to play, and are there any statistics that you are looking to improve?

Nick Lockwood: My goals for the 2010 season are to keep getting better and help whatever team I end up on win.

SethSpeaks:  What does spring training mean for you, and what are you looking forward to this year?

Nick Lockwood: I’m really excited about my first spring training. I remember when I was growing up my family and I would drive from Colorado to Arizona to watch spring training and now I’m going to be playing in it, it’s a dream come true for me.

SethSpeaks: Who was your favorite player to watch when you were growing up?

Nick Lockwood: My favorite player growing up was Ken Griffey Jr. but now I really like watching Chase Utley play.

SethSpeaks: What team did you grow up watching and cheering for?

Nick Lockwood: My favorite team was the Rockies when I was younger.

SethSpeaks: What do you remember about the draft and events leading up to your signings?

Nick Lockwood: The entire draft was really exciting for my entire family. My brother and I both got selected, so to say the least both of my parents were pretty emotional.

SethSpeaks: Best thing of career in baseball?

Nick Lockwood: The best thing in my career so far was getting invited to participate in instructional league. It was a great learning experience and developed me as a player a lot.

SethSpeaks:  Toughest thing about career in baseball?

Nick Lockwood: The toughest thing so far would be double headers in the middle of summer. It can get pretty hot down in Florida.

SethSpeaks: What would it mean to make your big league debut?

Nick Lockwood: To make a big league debut would be incredible. I grew up dreaming about playing in the big leagues and to be able to do it would be amazing. 

Thank you so much to Nick Lockwood for taking some of his time to respond to all the questions. If you would like, you can e-mail me, or feel free to leave your comments here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

