Spring Training Q&A: Kyle Gibson

8 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

When the Twins drafted Kyle Gibson with the 22nd overall pick, I was told that the team was absolutely thrilled that they were able to draft him. In the early spring, some projected him to be as high as a Top 5 pick. Yes, he had pitched at the University of Missouri with a stress fracture. I was told that he was an incredible person, but not to expect negotiations to be easy. Well, Gibson was frequently on the SethSpeaks.net Weekly Minnesota Twins podcast for updates. In fact, he called in to a podcast with less than two hours before the draft deadline to tell us where things were. He signed with about 15 minutes to spare.    Here is today’s Q&A with Twins infielder, Kyle Gibson. (To see all previous SethSpeaks.net Q&As, click here) (and feel free to leave questions or comments here)

…Let the Questions Begin!

SethSpeaks: Now that you’ve had a few months to look back and reflect, what are your thoughts on 2009 (a lot of events from college season, draft, instructs and more)?

Kyle Gibson: one of the most fun seasons ever for me. We had a good team at Mizzou, and it was a blast getting to play against that type of competition constantly. Learned a lot about myself as a pitcher through the injury as well. Had a blast at instructs because it was my first time on the mound in 4 months!!!

SethSpeaks: What do you do when you’re not playing baseball or working out in preparation for the upcoming season?

Kyle Gibson: When i am not at the facility or getting ready, I prefer golfing, hanging out with teammates and friends, and playing Call of Duty on my Wii.

SethSpeaks: When did you start getting ready for the 2010 season, and what was your routine?

Kyle Gibson: I started lifting and working out the middle of December but started throwing the end of December. 2 to 3 lifts a week and then once January came around started throwing 5 to 7 times a week.

SethSpeaks: What are your goals for the 2010 season? Where would you like to play, and are there any statistics that you are looking to improve?

Kyle Gibson: My goals are to have a successful season and to develop in a big way on the mound. I don’t really have a preference on where I start it is just going to be important to fill my role that I am given. There are a couple stats that I like to check and the most important being walks…If I have a low walk total i will most likely be happy!!!

SethSpeaks:  What does spring training mean for you, and what are you looking forward to this year?

Kyle Gibson: Being my first spring training I do not really know what to expect but i would say since college season is already in full swing, spring training for me will actually be a nice beginning. I am so used to playing baseball already by this time!!!

SethSpeaks: Who was your favorite player to watch when you were growing up?

Kyle Gibson: probably Nolan Ryan or Barry Larkin. I used to be a shortstop back in the day and lived my big league short stop dream through him and Omar Vizquel.

SethSpeaks: What team did you grow up watching and cheering for?

Kyle Gibson: The Reds and the Cubs

SethSpeaks: What do you remember about the draft and events leading up to your signings?

Kyle Gibson: I was very excited because of the good reputation I had heard about the club.

SethSpeaks: Best thing of career in baseball?

Kyle Gibson: Wow…this one is tough. probably junior year of college, going to austin, TX and beating number 1 texas 2-0.

SethSpeaks:  Toughest thing about career in baseball?

Kyle Gibson: the few injuries i have had. I have been lucky but they both have been extremely painful.

SethSpeaks:  Funniest story in your minor league career?

Kyle Gibson: Getting made fun of by Boof Bonser everyday in instructs for various things. Calling our coaches “Coach”, taking my shoes off in the training room and leaving them in the exact wrong spot so Boof would trip on them!

SethSpeaks: What would it mean to make your big league debut?

Kyle Gibson: It will be another step in reaching goals that I have set throughout my life!!! 

Thank you so much to Kyle Gibson for taking some time to respond to all the questions. If you would like, you can e-mail me, or feel free to leave your comments here.

One Response to “Spring Training Q&A: Kyle Gibson”

  1. 8th inning guy March 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    I see revere is getting a lot of A.B’s so far. Surely he isn’t a candidate for the 5th outfielder spot?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

