Spring Training Q&A: Tyler Robertson

10 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

I surprised a lot of people after the 2007 season when I ranked Tyler Robertson as the Twins #1 prospect. He had been the team’s 3rd round pick out of high school the year before. It took an injury to push him up to Beloit in 2007, but once there, he pitched great. He got off to a fast start in 2009 in Ft. Myers, however, after just 15 starts, he was shut down with tendinitis. He came back in 2009 and pitched well at Ft. Myers. Most important, he stayed healthy. He will likely move up to AA New Britain in 2010 and hopes to regain his top prospect status. (To see all previous SethSpeaks.net Q&As, click here) (and feel free to leave questions or comments here)

…Let the Questions Begin!

SethSpeaks: Now that you’ve had a few months to look back and reflect, what are your thoughts on your 2009 season?

Tyler Robertson: Overall I was very happy with my 2009 season. Coming off tendonitis I stayed healthy and felt like I am getting my full arm strength back.

SethSpeaks: What do you do when you’re not playing baseball or working out in preparation for the upcoming season?

Tyler Robertson: When I am not working out or playing baseball I try to get as far away from that stuff as I can. I love to shoot and hunt. fish. hangout with family and friends.

SethSpeaks: When did you start getting ready for the 2010 season, and what was your routine?

Tyler Robertson: I took about 2weeks completely off and then started up with my workouts. I started to throw a little earlier this year around late October.

SethSpeaks: What are your goals for the 2010 season? Where would you like to play, and are there any statistics that you are looking to improve?

Tyler Robertson: My goals for 2010 season is to make all my starts, throw strikes and win ball games. My command got better as the year went on last season so I want to build off of that.

SethSpeaks:  What does spring training mean for you, and what are you looking forward to this year?

Tyler Robertson: Spring Training to me is getting ready for the season and fine tuning your work in the off season. I am looking forward to getting there and seeing all the guys and getting back in the game.

SethSpeaks: Who was your Favorite Player?

Tyler Robertson: Growing up my favorite player was Randy Johnson.

SethSpeaks: What team did you grow up watching and cheering for?

Tyler Robertson: My favorite team was the Cleveland Indians.

SethSpeaks: What were your thoughts as you were considering signing with the Twins?

Tyler Robertson: I was very excited to be drafted by the Twins. I have a great relationship with the scout who signed me and I had only heard great things about the minor league system.

SethSpeaks: Best thing of career in baseball?

Tyler Robertson: Easy answer, getting to play baseball.

SethSpeaks: Toughest thing of career in baseball?

Tyler Robertson: There really isn’t one. I enjoy it all.

SethSpeaks:  Funniest story in your minor league career?

Tyler Robertson: Too many to name. I have a good time on and around the baseball field. I feel like everyday something hilarious happens.

SethSpeaks: What would it mean to make your big league debut?

Tyler Robertson: It would mean I was fulfilling one of my ultimate goals and dreams.

With that, “Thank you” to Tyler Robertson for his time and responses to all the questions. If you would like, you can e-mail me, or feel free to leave your comments here.

2 Responses to “Spring Training Q&A: Tyler Robertson”

  1. Eric Olson March 10, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    Thought I’d let you know I finally got around to reviewing the Twins annual. Great work! http://bit.ly/9enmxY

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spring Training Q&A: Dakota Watts « SethSpeaks.net - March 10, 2010

    [...] The Twins made college pitching a priority (or at least that’s how it ended up) in the 2009 draft. In the 16th round, the team selected 6-6 righty Dakota Watts from Cal-State Stanislaus. After signing, he spent time with the GCL Twins, then Ft. Myers, then he went back to Elizabethton, which is where he should have been all along. He is heading to his first Twins minor league camp, so it should be a lot of fun getting to know Dakota Watts. (To see all previous SethSpeaks.net Q&As, click here) (and feel free to leave questions or comments here) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

