Spring Training Q&A: Jan Rehacek

13 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net 

·         FINAL REMINDER, Today is the Day! Today, the TWINSCENTRIC Viewing Party at Major’s Sports Café in Apple Valley. All four TwinsCentric guys will be there. Several other prominent Twins bloggers will be there as well. It will start about noon (when the Twins/Phillies game starts) and will go until a little after the game is complete. Prizes (including a Minnesota Twins 2010 Prospect Handbook, a Twins 2010 Annual, and even Twins tickets!) will be given away throughout the afternoon. So, if you have a chance, stop by and it’ll be fun just talking Twins with Twins fans!

·         Fanatic Jack hosted a special Friday night edition of Twins Talk. He was joined by DW the Great (Twin-Keys) and Andrew Kneeland (Twins Target) were his guests.

·         On Saturday morning at 10:00 central time, DW the Great will host his podcast as well. TJ De Santis, the producer of The Show, will be one of his guests.

·         A Huge Congratulations to friend of SethSpeaks, Phil Mackey, who left KFAN on Friday morning and announced that he will be moving to KSTP (which will soon be ESPN 1500). On March 23, he will join Patrick Reusse on the air from noon to two. Mackey writes a blog at www.PhilMackey.com and runs the Minnesota Poker Tour and Minnesota Poker Magazine. Mackey joins Mr. Phunn Joe Anderson and Doogie Wolfson as former KFAN guys to move to KSTP.

·         The Twins minor leaguers will have their first practice on Saturday, weather permitting. I learned last night that Trayvone Johnson, who was drafted as a catcher just last June, has been moved to the mound because of his great arm.

 

The Twins signed Jan Rehacek in July and sent the 23 year old to the GCL Twins. The lefty from the Czech Republic had been playing in Europe and pitching well. In just six innings with the GCL Twins he allowed just two base runners and no runs. 2010 will be an interesting season. He will be 24 years old, so you would want him to move up quickly and yet, he would not even be eligible for the Rule 5 draft until after the 2012 season, so they should allow him to slowly develop. I definitely want to thank Jan for taking time to answer my questions. English is a language he is very new to him as he speaks Czech, but I enjoyed his responses and hopefully you will too.  (To see all previous SethSpeaks.net Q&As, click here) (and feel free to leave questions or comments here)

 

…Let the Questions Begin!

 

SethSpeaks: Now that you’ve had a few months to look back and reflect, what are your thoughts on your 2009 season?

 

Jan Rehacek: It was great experience for me, because season 09 was my first professional season in my career.

 

SethSpeaks: What do you do when you’re not playing baseball or working out in preparation for the upcoming season?

 

Jan Rehacek: I´m studying, enjoying life, time with my girlfriend and parents.
 

SethSpeaks: When did you start getting ready for the 2010 season, and what was your routine?

 

Jan Rehacek: I´m starting working out and preparing for upcoming season 1 month after my season is over. My daily routine is gym, practice, running.

 

SethSpeaks: What are your goals for the 2010 season? Where would you like to play, and are there any statistics that you are looking to improve?

 

Jan Rehacek: My goals are be good, prepare for season, put everything that I got to the game. And jump to the single A at least.

  

SethSpeaks: What does spring training mean for you, and what are you looking forward to this year?

 

Jan Rehacek: It will be my first spring training, I´m pretty exciting to see that great players.

 

SethSpeaks: Being from the Czech Republic, did you have a Favorite Player or a favorite team?

 

Jan Rehacek: Of course I have. For example: Josh Beckett, Daisuke Matsuzaka. Funny is that they are not lefties:-)

 

SethSpeaks: How popular is baseball in your country? 

 

Jan Rehacek: It´s not that popular like football or ice hockey. But it´s quite good.

 

SethSpeaks: Tell us a little about your decision to sign with the Twins. Were other teams talking to you too?

 

Jan Rehacek: I had 6 offers from other teams. And Twins offer for me sounds very trustworthy and was very straight to me.

 

SethSpeaks: Best thing of career in baseball? 

 

Jan Rehacek: I think that lot of people in the world are not satisfied what they doing, so I can be glad that I´m playing baseball and also love what I´m doing. My life makes sense.

  

SethSpeaks: Toughest thing of career in baseball? 

 

Jan Rehacek: I think, be(ing) ready every time when coach give you a chance to play.

  

SethSpeaksWhat would it mean to make your big league debut?

 

Jan Rehacek: Finally fulfill my dream.

Thank you very much to Jan Rehacek for taking some of his time to respond. With English as his second language, I really appreciate his willingness and effort in answering my questions. If you would like, you can e-mail me, or feel free to leave your comments here.

2 Responses to “Spring Training Q&A: Jan Rehacek”

  1. Dillon March 16, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Great Q&A Seth. Its always nice to hear about some of the Twins’ European prospects. Speaking of which, is there a website/blog/publication that goes into further detail about those prospects? If so, I’d love to know where.

  2. Jesse Bustamante June 2, 2010 at 2:46 am #

    Hi Seth, I am an American living in the Netherlands. I had the honor to see Jan pitch out here. He will diffinately make it to the show. I coach little Leauge BB out here, and Jan took the time to give our kids (and my son Dion) pitcher/catcher training 2x a week. He is a kind and generous kid. Jan, hope to see you in the “SHOW” soon.

    Jesse Bustamante
    HDP,Hoofddorp

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

