Site Update and Survey

18 Oct

Also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

2010 was a tremendous year for the Minnesota Twins and their fans. It started with an exciting offseason that showed the Twins front office willing to spend as they had promised when they got a new stadium. The front office’s commitment continued throughout the season with several additions. The Twins fans got to see Target Field, and the wonder that it truly is, throughout the entire facility. Sure, the season ended in an incredibly disappointing way, another three-game sweep at the hands of the Yankees. But that doesn’t take away the many countless hours of entertainment that the Twins provided us for nearly nine months. And those of you that are like me, well, we enjoy it year-round. We will be following the Twins Hot Stove action throughout the offseason. Again, the TwinsCentric Offseason GM Handbook is now available for pre-order at www.TwinsCentric.com, and it is a great overview of all of the Twins decisions in the upcoming offseason.

At an event the day after the Twins season came to an end, I was asked, “What are you going to do now that the Twins season is over?” My response? “Sleep!”

We shall see if I add any sleep during the offseason. (Easier said than done!) I have a feeling that this will be another very interesting offseason. The Twins have 11 free agents and nine arbitration-eligibles. They have to determine whether to pick up 2011 options on two players. The payroll is a huge question mark at this point.

Today, I wanted to give you an idea of what to expect from me, and from this site (and the various other sites I provide content for), and then at the end, I want to ask you some questions as well.

  • SethSpeaks.net – This is obviously the flagship for it all, and any projects or links will be found here. The plan would be to post something nearly every day. Any time the Twins make a move, I will be posting my analysis and opinions.
  • TwinsCentric blog at StarTribune.com – As a group, we decided to continue posting blogs there throughout the offseason, and the StarTribune is ok with that. Depending upon how much is going on, I might only post there on my days with a link at SethSpeaks.net. During the season, I would post separate blogs at both locations.
  • SethSpeaks.net Weekly Minnesota Twins Podcast – The goal will be to host those shows every Tuesday night at 9:00. I will attempt to talk to a Twins minor leaguer, maybe an occasional major leaguer, Twins media types and bloggers each week to discuss what’s going on. During weeks such as the Winter Meetings, it is possible that I would have additional shows.
  • TwinsCentric Projects – As you know, the Offseason GM Handbook is available for pre-order. As we did last year, we will be putting together the Twins 2011 Annual with the Maple Street Press. That will likely be on newsstands in March or so. Last year, we were asked to write quite a bit of the Twins Yearbook, so perhaps projects like that will pop up as well.
  • SethSpeaks.net Minnesota Twins 2011 Prospect Handbook – I really haven’t mentioned it here yet, but my plan is to again sell a Twins prospect book, as I have the last two years. I will again be working with Jonathan Mayo of mlb.com , and I have asked several of your favorite Twins minor league bloggers, and people from the Twins affiliates’ teams to help write. Expect much more information on this in the next two months. My hope is to have it available much earlier than last year.
  • Twitter – I’m sure I’ll be active at @SethTweets, and on my facebook page.
  • Twins Fest – I’ll be there.

In other words, I will remain incredible busy writing on the Twins, even if it may not always seem that way. The reality is that I may almost no money from this blogging thing, so I will need to prioritize other things such as career (that pays me) and parenthood. So occasionally, I may just need a day off.

With that in mind, I want to offer you a chance to help me prioritize a little bit. I need to know what you like to read about here at SethSpeaks.net, and what things you could do without? Here are some questions that I would like answers to in this demographic survey, but please feel free to answer what you want, not answer what you don’t want to. Feel free to complement and criticize. Feel free to be brief, or long-winded.

1.)     Where are you located?

2.)     What age range do you belong to?

3.)     What are the top 3-4 reasons that you come to SethSpeaks.net (or the other various projects)?

4.)     Are there things that you could do without or don’t like?

5.)     Thoughts on the TwinsCentric e-books, blog, etc.?

6.)     Thoughts on the podcasts (SethSpeaks.net Weekly Minnesota Twins podcast or Twins Minor League Weekly)?

7.)     Open Comments… please feel free to tell me anything, good or bad.

Thank you to everyone for making it a good Twins season. Thanks to the Twins players, front office and coaching staff for another fun season to follow. Thank you to all of the fellow Twins bloggers for their support. Especially thank you to the other TwinsCentric guys (Parker, Nick and John) for a great year, and hopefully it keeps getting better. Thanks to those that I met at the various TwinsCentric Viewing Parties. Thanks to all that come to this site every day for information. Thanks to those who have written throughout the year. High-end summary à just thank you to everyone for making this a good year, and I do look forward to the offseason.

Please Leave your survey/comments here.

11 Responses to “Site Update and Survey”

  1. Derek Shagglio October 18, 2010 at 5:46 am #

    1. Minnesota and New York (Manhattan)

    2. 21

    3. Prospects, Prospects, Prospects hehehe :-)

    4. I wish the layout on the site was a little easier on the eyes (and that we didn’t have to go to a different site to leave a comment).

    5. I like them, but being a prospect guy, I wish there was more focus on the Minor leagues in the TwinsCentric projects (I’ll never be pleased. Hahahaha!)

    6. I really enjoy the podcasts. Having former players (as well as current) have been great to listen to. I also enjoy the writing/fan guests (especially from rival teams).

    7. I’m really looking forward to both the prospect handbook and the twins annual. Last year’s annual was perfect. Is it going to be set up the same way (with a lot of different people writing in it? And is there going to be more focus on the Minor Leagues? I like yours and the other guys (sorry, can’t rememebr his name from the annual…) take on the Twins minor leagues. Those international signings sure where fun to keep tabs on.

    I rarely coment, but I wanted to just say that I really enjoy your site. It’s one of the first ones I read in the morning at work and all of the twins centeric guys deserve a big pat on the back for everything you’ve done this season.

    God Bless,

    - Shaggy

  2. mike wants wins October 18, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    First, thanks for all the writing. It is one of the better parts of the Twins for me, following you and Aaron.

    1.) Where are you located? St. Louis Park

    2.) What age range do you belong to? 46

    3.) What are the top 3-4 reasons that you come to SethSpeaks.net (or the other various projects)? minor league information, minor league information, roster thoughts, game thoughts are last by far

    4.) Are there things that you could do without or don’t like? I don’t look at the NFL picks at all.

    5.) Thoughts on the TwinsCentric e-books, blog, etc.? Just not a priority for me to spend money on, and, while the concept of the trade book interests me, they just don’t make trades that involve those players.

    6.) Thoughts on the podcasts (SethSpeaks.net Weekly Minnesota Twins podcast or Twins Minor League Weekly)? No time to listen most of the time.

    7.) Open Comments… please feel free to tell me anything, good or bad.
    Keep up the fandom. Keep following the minors.

  3. hoff October 18, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    38 year old male Champaign, Illinois
    I come by for your insight of the minor leagues, The overall positive vibe and realistic expectations. The sight could be prettier, but it gets the job done. I buy most of the e-books although that last one put out a week or two ago was a waste of time and money. No offense, it just didn’t seem to have much meat to it. Will continue buying since their usually good, helpful reads. I love the podcasts. I’m impressed with the quality of your guests and usually don’t care if it’s a single A guy, local media, or fellow blogger. I applaud the work. Maybe a little less Fanatic Jack….

  4. hoff October 18, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    My Bad, I skipped over the first page of the offseason primer and didn’t see that it’s a holder. I was wondering why that got pumped out so quick

  5. roger October 18, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Am located in Wayzata.

    I am 66 years old.

    Keep coming back cause, a) I consider you a friend, b) you do have the best access to minor league information of anyone in this market, c) it is part of my early morning routine……

    I really don’t get into the TwinsCentric ebooks, etc. Read most of your TwinsCentric posts. Expect there are some things you really should eliminate to regain some sanity in your life.

    Love the podcasts, but almost never listen to them live. Some of us old guys and me in particular are usually in bed, asleep at 9pm.

    Have loved your site for I don’t know how many years Seth, thank you!

  6. Kevin Malphurs October 18, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    1) Edina, MN

    2) 27

    3) a) Timely, accurate analysis of the games b)Optimism c) Minor League review. d) Writing style

    4)I don’t really care about football picks. I come to the site for information on the Twins and that is it. However, it doesn’t really bother me that much since I just skip reading those non-Twins related sections.

    5) I haven’t bought one…sorry.

    6) I haven’t listened to a podcast, so I can’t comment.

    7)I really enjoy reading the site every morning after either a Twins game or a big Twins related news story. Keep up the great work.

  7. mbrian October 19, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    1) Iowa
    2) 41
    3) a) minor league info, b)prospect rankings, c)off-season roster analysis.
    4) I don’t have any interest in the football picks, but it doesn’t bother me–I simply scroll past it.
    5) I’m sure the books are good, but I’m interested in free content.
    6) I prefer reading to audio. I no longer listen to the podcasts.
    7) I’ve really enjoyed the site over the last several years. Selfishly, I wish you didn’t do the podcasts or the books just because they reduce the amount of content on the site. Your prospect rankings are the highlight for me.

  8. Steve October 19, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    1.) Minneapolis

    2.) 29

    3.) Detailed Twins/baseball insight that I find in abundance among the blogs, but not so much among regular Strib/PioneerPress/Etc beat writers. I don’t want a story so much as insight- love the statistical analyses, in-depth analysis of specific players, transaction (real and potential) analysis, entries devoted to prospects, anything that helps me understand the Twins and baseball more. I also enjoy some of the “personal” entries: laments about tough losses, celebratory entires about exciting wins.

    4.) I don’t mind the minor-league recaps and football picks, I do sorta fill like they create clutter. Maybe you could have a link or drop-down feature so those aspects of entries could be minimized if desired? They take up a lot of space, minor nuisance when not interested in reading them. That minimization feature might actually be good for most entries given the breadth of info you provide, readers could pick and choose what they want opened/closed.

    5.) Love the TwinsCentric contributions on the Strib site. Just bought the 2010-2011 offseason handbook, haven’t seen/used any handbooks yet, but based on what’s been sampled in the blogs, looking forward to it.

    6.) Haven’t heard a podcast yet. Guess I’m just more inclined to read vs. listen, probably cause I visit mostly while at work, easier to pause reading and return to it than pausing/re-starting audio.

    7.) The only left-hand margin links I ever use are the top 5 or 6 “Twins-related sites” links. I never use anything above or below those. Again, maybe a link to a separate page where those links are offered, or some sort of minimization-option would be great. Also agreed with a previous commenter that I don’t like the separate page for comments. These are mostly-trivial quibbles, though. You could change nothing and I wouldn’t mind. Keep up the great work!

  9. SteveH October 20, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    1. Northwest Iowa
    2. 42
    3. I like the perspective–fairly upbeat, but also critical when needed. I don’t care about the “regular-old” game recap, but I do like the insight you provide. Also like the news from the minors and the prospect interviews.
    4. Frankly, I don’t care about the football picks, but I read almost everything else on the site.
    5. Good analysis, as is always the case by you, Geek and Nick.
    6. Don’t listen very often, but it’s at a good time.
    7. To me, your analysis generally is spot on and generally affirms my thoughts. It makes my whole baseball experience much richer.

  10. Robb October 23, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    1. Minneapolis
    2. 38
    3. Minor League game recaps, prospect rankings, draft analysis and Twins thoughts about anything and everything they do.
    4. I skip the football picks but I always enjoy seeing who is doing the picking.
    5. I’ve enjoyed most of the the TwinsCentric products. I thought the Trade Primer was a little long this year with such analysis of the whole league. Very good but just took a lot longer to get through and I didn’t care that much about the majority of the other teams. Love the blog with the different perspective from each blogger.
    6. I’ve listened to I think only one podcast. I enjoyed it but I just don’t always listen.
    7. I love what you do and love reading about the players that we hope will be playing in Target Field for a long time. I like the side bar that updates the favorite prospects throughout the season also.

  11. waterface October 25, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    i’m in virginia and 55. life long twins fan. i rarely come to your site anymore because it doesn’t paginate right and fit in the 3 different browsers…….. and the one i use most…. firefox. i don’t know why…. but it seems that doesn’t matter to you and that you are more interested in football picks than making your site fan/user friendly and making it work right without scroll bars popping up or going to an alternative site (this one) to leave comments. it is just to tedious to use as you post it now. it is a shame too……. i really liked your blog. maybe you should do a different site for all the football and the thugs that play it. that would give us a choice. football has just turned into a game with players that are too thugish for me, and i have lost total interest in the pro game. if you make this baseball only… you have a great thing going.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

