Thome Stays with Twins

14 Jan

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

Jim Thome signed a one year, $3 million contract with the Minnesota Twins for the 2011 season. He can also reach more incentives. After making $1.5 million plus incentives last year, and he hit 25 homers is an OPS over 1.000. In reality, the Twins hope that Thome does not have to play such an important role in 2011, but he showed that given proper playing time, and more important, proper time off, he still can have a huge impact on the lineup.

However, if all goes well, Justin Morneau will remain in the lineup, and Jason Kubel will return to his 2009 form, and Thome will fill a role. Hopefully he will be able to get his 600th career home run in a Twins uniform.

I know that many think I am not happy with Jim Thome coming back. I am very happy that Thome is coming back. I really am, especially because I think that the dollars are very, very fair. He’s a terrific person and an important role model in that clubhouse, but he can also impact a baseball game in a very positive way. Because of the role that he should play in 2011, this is not a Brett Favre like return in that, if he struggles, it won’t have devastating.

Do I think that this team needs right-handed hitting? Absolutely and I can’t back away from that. It’s great having Thome sitting on the Twins bench, but he is still sitting there with Matt Tolbert, Jason Repko and Drew Butera. I do think that a right-handed backup that can hit would be great. Maybe it can be Luke Hughes.

In all, this is a positive for the Twins on many levels. It is a good deal for the Twins. Next up, I’m pretty sure Carl Pavano will be brought back… sometime… one of these days… or weeks… right?

Feel free to e-mail me or leave your comments here.

9 Responses to “Thome Stays with Twins”

  1. mike wants wins January 14, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    I’m glad he’s back. I wanted Jeff Francis also….now they’ll have to face him instead. He struck me as a low risk, lowish cost guy.

  2. dave January 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Proving once again that numbers that are floated are just negotiating tools. $3million does seem fair, but, as everyone realizes–including Bill Smith, I’m sure–we are desperately short of right-handed bats. That Thome received $3 million and not $5 or $6 million would seem to suggest the Twins really are going to resign Pavano.

  3. Greg January 14, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Great coverage and post Seth. I like the signing and think Troy glaus would be a perfect fit for RH on the bench, plus provides help to Valencia and Morneau..

    I also have on my dream list Fuentes to be brought back. Pen would be awesome and protection if Nathan can”t throw 100%..

    Lastly, RH minor league signing Veras.

  4. TT January 14, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I don’t see how Hughes makes the team.I am trying to imagine a situation where you would go with Hughes, even against a left hander, instead of Thome. Hughes problem is the same as always, he doesn’t have a position.

    I think Tolbert and Repko are the most likely bench players. But its possible either one could lose out to someone in spring training. I just doubt Hughes is a likely candidate. More likely would be Plouffe or Revere.

    • scot January 14, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      I am pretty sure Revere will not be sitting on the Twins bench until he is a sept callup. this kid needs to play everyday.

  5. mntwin34 January 14, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    I’m also concerned about our lack of right-handed hitting but, at $3 million, the Twins would have been crazy not to re-sign Thome.

  6. Wavedog January 14, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Although I like Jason Kubel – now that we have signed Thome – I would see about moving him for either bullpen help, a RH/OF bat or middle infield depth. They seem redundant players to me. Although Thome is signed for only one year – I think Kubel is in the same situation.

  7. Gary September 3, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    Great article and post Seth.I like the latest signings and think Troy will be a perfect fit for RH on the bench, plus provides help to Valencia and Morneau when needed. Keep the awesome blog going m8.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SethSpeaks.net Minnesota Twins Top 10 Prospects « SethSpeaks.net - January 14, 2011

    [...] is doing a great job covering it, so be sure to read his work and comment there (or scroll down to my quick thoughts on Thome’s return). But here today, we are going to talk Twins prospects, and hopefully it’ll create some good [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

