Saturday Shorts: Ft. Myers Travel Tips?

5 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

As you know, I will be traveling early on Tuesday morning from Minneapolis to Ft. Myers. I should be landing just in time to get to Hammond Stadium for the Twins game. I will be there until an early Sunday morning direct flight brings me back to Minnesota. While in Florida, I’ll be hanging out with fellow Twins bloggers Nick Nelson, Parker Hageman, Topper Anton and Andrew Bryz-Gornia. Who else will be down there?  As previously mentioned, we will be hosting a Twins Fan get-together (or, Tweet-Up) after the Tuesday afternoon Twins game at Potts Sports Bar, just down the road from the stadium. So, if you’re going to be down there, stop by!

So, how many of you have been to Ft. Myers for Spring Training? I was there in passing for about 20 minutes about 10 years ago, so I am looking forward to the trip where the primary purpose is Twins camp. As I spend time this weekend packing for the trip and thinking of what I need to bring with me, I would love to hear any advice that those who have been there before would be willing to share. I know some of you go every year. Maybe some of you have been there once or twice. Maybe others have never been there and aren’t sure what to expect.

Please feel free to share stories, but also please share any tips or tricks that Twins fans need to know before going to Ft. Myers for spring training.

7 Responses to “Saturday Shorts: Ft. Myers Travel Tips?”

  1. Michael Busch March 5, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Seth, I visited Ft. Meyers 10 years ago. Can’t tell you about any restaurants, bars to frequent due to it’s so long ago, but I do know this: the chance to see the propects and up-and-comers up close is pretty choice. It was Johan’s first Twins camp; Jacque was fresh off the farm, green as a pea; Matty LeCroy had the hype – and (hope you’re sitting down) saw Mr. “No-Tools,” Butch Huskey! Posted cool pic on my blog of autographed program. My only advice: take tons ‘o photos & notes. Regret not doing enough! And get to workouts early, never know what you’ll see. Am sure you’re already all over that…

  2. Pat McEnroe March 5, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Hey I grew up there but havent been back too much since the recession and things changed big time after that (tons of stores/resturant closures). Anyways you’ll probably want to spend most of your time in the south fort myers area where the new grow is, which is near the complex and where the new Red Sox stadium is being built. you’ll want to check out coconut point maybe hit ft myers beach for a day but with spring break it will be nuts. oh and be ready for tons of traffic this time of year. other touristy thing would be the Edison home but if you want to venture across the river and see the real natives in all their glory you guys might want to check out Mike Greenwell’s fun park. It has some baseball memorabilia stuff and go-karts, but chances are you’ll end up in a fight with a greasy 10th grader. early mid march it can get rainy/windy, doesnt get super hot until closer to april. only food i can recommend that I know still exists would be firehouse subs, Carrabbas, and Iguana Mia has some decent mexican food. hope this helps

  3. Brian March 5, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Seth
    I hope I get to meet you while down here.
    As far as places to go the beach is always popular but you will be here in prime spring break time. The most packed and youngest beach is Fort Myers Beach but parking and getting there is a pain. Sanibel costs more to get to but normally there is parking at the lighthouse or at Turner Beach/blind pass.
    For food within 5-10 miles of stadium I would recommend the Ale House. It has 2 locations, one on Colonial Blvd and another at Gulf Coast Town Center. GCTC also has many other places to eat. There is also the Shrimp Shack about a mile from the stadium on Metro parkway. They normally have a coupon in the paper or internet for buy 1 meal get 1 free or half off. Pinchers crab Shack at GCTC is very good as well.
    There are no other sports other than baseball that week. The local hockey team is away and the college teams will have finished their basketball seasons. The baseball team is away that week as well
    Parking for the Twins games can be a pain. Arriving anytime after noon and you will be stuck in line. Arriving anytime after 12:30 and you will miss innings. Try to use Plantation Road in back of the stadium as it seems to be a quicker exit in past years. Also if not opposed to talking a little you can save 5 bucks and park at the Publix parking lot which is the same place you would need to be for Potts. If you do arrive early enough the back fields will have the minor league teams training. Normally they are split by type of jersey later in the spring. You can also get to the players at their training complex that is next to the infield practice field (aka large building about 200 yards from stadium) Any specific questions let me know. I’ve been in this area for 30 years.

  4. Mike March 5, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Seth; If your going to the park directly from the airport and time is an issue I recommend going south out of the airport to ALICO and take it west to US 41; go north to Six Mile Cypress; hang a right going east on Six Mile Cypress; take a left (north) on PLANTATION road. This is the back way into Hammond. I live 5 miles from Hammond and have seen countless nightmares of fans coming down off of Daniels to Hammond and it’s gridlock. Hope this helps. I’ve been reading your stuff for quite sometime and enjoy it very I’m always looking for insight on talent going and coming from the Miracle.

  5. brad March 6, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Seth, I’ll be heading down there on Saturday for a weak and we are taking in 3 games. Times Square on Ft Myers Beach has quite a few small independent restaraunts, though it is a biatch getting there by car this time of the year. I highly recommend Pinchers if you like crab, order the garlic butter pinchers – some of the best crab I have eaten.

  6. Josh March 7, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Seth, I live in Miami (about 2 1/2 hours away), and have made the trip to Ft. Myers for a Twins game every year since they moved to Ft. Myers in ’91. I always bring a big group of friends with me, and we always have a blast. Parking is not a problem if you get there early. I usually try to get to the park by 9:30 a.m., and go straight back to the minor league fields. there are always a lot of players (major and minor league mixed) on those fields, and it is a far better way to watch the players than heading straight into the stadium. If you head straight back, you will find the practice pitching mounds lined up, and you can stand very close to the catchers. The field on the left is for the low-minors, and the fields straight ahead and to the right are mixed. The earlier you get there, the more likely you are to interact with the players. After the game, there is one place I recommend you stop for a treat. Exit the stadium and turn right onto Six Mile Cypress Parkway. About a mile down on the left hand side you will see a place called Sun Harvest Citrus. It is worth it to stop. They offer a free sample of all of their juices (the best you have ever had), and sell great ice cream (I recommend the orange/vanilla swirl). It is a great place to go after sitting through the heat at the game. I am making my annual trip on Sunday, so it looks like I will miss you. If you change your plans and stay an extra day, e-mail me. I have been reading your blog for a long time, and would enjoy meeting you.

  7. chandan singh October 10, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    hi i dont like to disturb you… But your travelling detail is usefull for me.. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

