1991 World Series DVD Contest 1 (Twins Prospects Lists Needed)

1 Aug

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

As you have seen all around the Twins blogosphere, I too will be holding a couple of Contests where the winner will receive a couple of 1991 Twins World Series DVDs available now from A&E. Here are the details on the DVDs that the winners will receive, which are now available for you to purchase:

  • Minnesota Twins 1991 World Series Collector’s Edition DVD SET: A $69.95 value, I have the 1987 version and have actually gone back a few times and watched the games. We all have the obvious memories from the Kirby Puckett Game 6 home run, the Jack Morris on the mound in Game 7, to the Gene Larkin walk-off which scored Dan Gladden from 3B. But do you remember that Gladden raced to 2B on a blooper to get himself into that position? Do you remember how good rookie Chuck Knoblauch was? Do you remember how many big plays both the Twins and the Braves had to keep Game 7 knotted at zero? This seven DVD collection is absolutely amazing.
  • Magic in Minnesota: Remembering the 1991 World Series Championship DVD: A $19.95 value. Another video look back at that Fall Classic of 1991.

Of course, Twins fans can also order these DVDs, tickets and much more merchandise by going to www.TwinsBaseball.com. The Twins are doing a lot next weekend to celebrate that 1991 World Series championship. I plan to be there on Saturday. Look here for some more special 1991-related offers from the Twins.

So, what is the contest? What do you have to do to have an opportunity to win one of the two DVDs listed above?  Here are the first two contests:

CONTEST 1:

E-mail me your Top 10 Twins prospects as of today.  It’s really that simple. I updated my Top 50 list last month, but it would probably change a little bit if I did it today. In fact, right now, I think this is my Top 10 Twins Prospects List:

  1. Oswaldo Arcia, OF, Ft. Myers Miracle
  2. Liam Hendriks, RHP, Rochester Red Wings
  3. Aaron Hicks, OF, Ft. Myers Miracle
  4. Kyle Gibson, RHP, Rochester Red Wings
  5. Miguel Sano, 3B/SS, Elizabethton Twins
  6. Joe Benson, OF, New Britain Rock Cats
  7. Adrian Salcedo, RHP, Beloit Snappers
  8. Eddie Rosario, OF, Elizabethton Twins
  9. Angel Morales, OF, Ft. Myers Miracle
  10. Chris Parmelee, 1B, New Britain Rock Cats

So what does your current Top 10 Twins Prospect List look like? E-mail me your Top 10 list, and your name will be entered into a drawing. On Tuesday (August 2) at noon central time, I will draw out one name from a bucket and will notify that person that they have won the two 1991 World Series DVDs above. I will need your mailing address at the time, and you will receive the DVDs direct from A&E.

NOTE – The second Contest will be a Twitter contest. You can follow me on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/SethTweets.

If you have any questions, please let me know. Thank you for your participation! (Please feel free to discuss my current Top 10 Twins Prospect list.)

10 Responses to “1991 World Series DVD Contest 1 (Twins Prospects Lists Needed)”

  1. down on the farm August 1, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I have seen every one of your top ten…and I agree with you. In fact, I agree that Arcia is the best prospect the Twins have. He uses the entire field, with power to all areas. He has a ways to go, but is a physical specimen.

    It is a shame regarding Wimmers. He is the guy I would have thought would be the Twins number one prospect. I had him ranked number 1 heading into this season. Devastating year for him. Hoping for a Miracle. (no pun intended)

    HIcks is what he has always been. His defense is the only thing keeping him in the top 5. But an outfield of Benson in left, Hicks in center and Arcia in right in a few years is tantalizing. In four years, one could add Sano to that mix. D

    • Seth August 1, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Wimmers appears to, hopefully, be back, and if that’s the case, he definitely could be a top 5 guy early next year again. And, Hicks is more than just defense… although he’s in a mammoth slump now, he actually has taken a step forward this year, and has the world of potential.

  2. down on the farm August 1, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Seth,

    What do you know about Javier Pimentel? I know what we paid to sign him…and I know he is raw. He is a big strong kid for his age. When he hits the ball, it stays hit. He interests me far more than Kepler at this point. Do you have any inside scoop on Pimentel?

    • Seth August 1, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

      watching spring training for a day, Pimental didn’t impress me much. Yes, he got about the same signing bonus as Jorge Polanco. He is thin, but he clearly has a chance to grow. He’s been playing a lot at 3B since coming up to the GCL Twins from the DSL. He could be good, but he was one of two hitters that I saw that day that really didn’t impress me…

      The other, was JD Williams, who coudln’t hit anything but pop ups right-handed or left-handed… Williams is now hitting over .370 at Elizabethton, so making too much out of one day is crazy!!

  3. Matt August 1, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    I don’t understand the love for Liam Hendricks. Keith Law, Kevin Goldstein, and Jim Callis all call him a #4 at best.

  4. Ben August 2, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    Seth, is there something I’m missing about Joe Benson? He looks to be the closest to the majors of all the prospects but he always rates behind Hicks. His only real weakness I can see are the strikeouts while Hicks Strikes out just as often without hitting the ball nearly as well. I’ve read he has plus speed and a plus plus arm with a good glove. Why isn’t he expected to be with the Twins to start next season? Not saying he’s Grady Sizemore but it seems he is from the same mold and that’s one hell of a useful mold

  5. R Hobbs August 2, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I think telling Seth about prospects is like telling Charlie Sheen about partying…..

  6. mike wants wins August 2, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    My only quibble would be Parmalee. Not sure he’s going to be much, but I could be wrong. Well, my other quibble is that Liam is too high. He’s a #4/5 pitcher, I think, as a ceiling. Now, that’s not bad. A legit MLB starting pitcher is a great thing to be. I just seen Sano/Hicks/Gibson/maybe a couple of others with higher ceilings. That said, Hendricks appears to have a higher likelihood of succeeding at some level, so hard to say.

    • mini_tb August 2, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      I have Parmelee near the top 10 of my rankings, too. After 8 or 9, the Twins’ system bottoms out in a hurry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contest: Win 1991 World Series DVD Sets! » Knuckleballs - "Like butterflies with hiccups" - August 1, 2011

    [...] Seth Stohs has joined the DVD contest party over at SethSpeaks.net! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

