Writer’s Block

16 Sep

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net -

I remember a few years back, I titled a blog entry Writer’s Block (or something like that). I think that blog entry ended up being about 1,700 words. The last couple of nights, I don’t think I’ve ever experienced anything like I have right now. I stare at the computer, and nothing. So, I figured, let’s try to start this blog entry with the title, just start typing and see where it goes.

It’s been a rough season. I think we all know that. It’s not exactly fun rehashing the negatives that have come up throughout the year and continue now. I mean, I read the comments on good days and when good things happen, and people are negative. That’s no fun! I don’t know how some people have the ability to be as negative as they are day in and day out. But to each his own. We can all be fans in our own way. But I am not going to be negative every day.

So, then I was trying to come up with some positives… Sadly, that is really tough to do.

I love talking minor leaguers. The Twins Instructional League starts today down in Ft. Myers. It’s a great opportunity for many of the younger players in the organization to learn more and, as the title mentions, get instruction on all parts of the game. The Twins will play games against the Red Sox, the Orioles, the Rays and the Mets. But we will hear very little about it. I would love to get box scores and scouting reports, but teams don’t really provide any of that. And frankly, that’s fine, but I would love to see it.

The Arizona Fall League’s first scheduled games are October 4th. There are stats and box scores for that, so that’s exciting!

Jim Thome is coming back to the Twin Cities tonight with the Cleveland Indians. Hopefully he gets a big, roaring standing ovation from the Twins fans that are there. Hopefully the Twins will provide the fans with something that will create as much buzz and excitement as the Thome ovations.

Don’t forget to mark September 24th on your calendar. Manitou Station in White Bear Lake will play host to the TwinsCentric Viewing Party, starting at 11:30 for the noon Twins game in Cleveland. It will be a lot of fun, meeting fans and watching some baseball! The TwinsCentric guys will be there, and Aaron Gleeman and John Bonnes will record another episode of their world famous Gleeman and The Geek podcast.

The Vikings play on Sunday. I’ll probably watch that.

Hey, if you’re looking for an incredible, unlikely story, look no further than Steve Delabar of the Seattle Mariners. He had been out of baseball, working as a substitute teacher and an assistant baseball coach… and earlier this month, he made his big league debut. He was a substitute teacher THIS YEAR. Check out his meteoric rise through the Mariners’ system in this great Geoff Baker article.

I’d provide you a bunch of links to check out, but instead, I’ll direct you to Puckett’s Pond, where some of that work has already been done. For the rest, NoDak Twins Fan stole a title I used to use a lot Friday Links-and-Thinks and posted several more great links!   

If you have any questions, comments, links, ideas for blog posts, or anything, please feel free to ask in the Comments section. Help a blogger out!

5 Responses to “Writer’s Block”

  1. mike wants wins September 16, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Don’t check out BA’s list of minor league all stars….not one Twin above rookie level…..Seth, I posted kernels of hope on a Vikings’ site the other day, but I’m really struggling with that on the Twins right now. What are the kernels of legit hope for next year being a playoff year, heck, what are the kernels for 2013? This minor league system just looks far away from offering any stars.

  2. JimCrikket September 16, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I haven’t had a lot of inspiration for writing over on our blog lately, either. I haven’t thought of it so much as writers’ block as simply seeing nothing remotely interesting about what’s going on with the Twins right now, on or off the field.

    Thank God for all the drama over the demise of the Big XII conference and the potential ramifications across the college football landscape… or I’d have no reason to follow sports at all outside of Saturday football games.

  3. adjacent September 16, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    Well, who knows. Frankly I think nest year won’t be very good either, but I have confidence that in 2013, with Gibson coming back, and the generation that now is in New Britain starts making more of an impact, things will improve. But I remember that in 2008, after Santana and Hunter left, everybody was expecting a terrible season and ended up being pretty good. So, who knows…

  4. jeffrey September 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    Max Kepler?

  5. Brooks H September 21, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    I have an idea for a blog…Michael Cuddyer, take him or leave him? Obviously I’d love to have him back. He’s the face of the team and a great player/person, but can Luke Hughes and Trevor Plouffe be a poor man’s Michael Cuddyer? Then, take that and go get a starting pticher or a couple of relievers. That’s what’s on my mind and I’d love to hear your comments. It’s a good talker, any way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

