What Are You Watching?

15 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

 

Good Monday morning. If you missed it, I held Live Game Chats during the Saturday and Sunday Twins spring training games. I didn’t publicize them beforehand, so they took a little while to get going, but all-in-all, they were still fun, so be sure to check out the transcripts.

 

Today, the Twins will likely be sending several players back to minor league camp. I highlighted what that meant last Thursday. Because most of the Twins Opening Day roster is nearly set, I don’t think there would be a lot of surprises in the first cuts. One surprise could be Jose Mijares who 1.) pitched horribly, 2.) walked and hit too many hitters, 3.) had a bad attitude during winter ball, and 4.) showed up to spring training in worse shape than me. I’m really to the point that I think sending him down is the team’s only option.

 

Philip Humber will get a chance to make a start this afternoon for the Twins. It will be good for him to get a few innings under his belt. It was really good to see Nick Blackburn pitch and pitch well against the Yankees yesterday. Maybe most important was how well Joe Nathan pitched against the middle of the Marlins lineup on Saturday.

 

As you can see, at this point of training camp, it’s a little early to be finalizing the roster. Training Camp is definitely too long! So today, I’m going to do something a little different. We just have to! I am curious what baseball fans watch on TV besides baseball. What types of shows, comedies, dramas, etc. I’d like to put together a list.

 

So please take two minutes to send me an e-mail with the shows you watch on TV on a consistent basis. I will compile the list later this week. The shows I watch are:

 

Sundays – Desperate Housewives, Brothers and Sisters

Mondays – The Big Bang Theory

Wednesdays – Ghost Hunters

Thursdays – Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice

 

That is about it. For those of you who have been reading this blog since its inception in mid-2003, that certainly is a change. At that time, I was watching about four to five different shows each night. Now I don’t even know how that is possible! Then again, aside from Brothers and Sisters, there simply is not a show like Friends out there for me to get into!

 

So again, what are you watching?  Send me an e-mail, or leave your list and thoughts in the Comments here.

 

Another quick note:

·         The Twins Geek sure has some exciting news to share today! Be sure to check that out!

 

Have a great week!  

13 Responses to “What Are You Watching?”

  1. Eric Olson March 15, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    I’m kind of boring, what with law school keeping me busy and all, but here’s my list:

    Sundays: Iron Chef America
    Tuesdays: Chopped
    Wednesdays: Ghost Hunters
    Thursdays: My Name is Earl

    About Twice a week on weekdays: Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune

  2. Charlie Harper March 16, 2009 at 12:09 am #

    There is nothing that even comes close to “Two and a Half Men” which is on basically every day in syndicate. New ones ones are on Mondays. That show just busts me up.

  3. Josh Johnson March 16, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    Sundays: Just watched Kings on NBC (series premiere …looks alright), Celebrity Apprentice
    Mondays: House, 24, Heroes
    Tuesdays: American Idol
    Wednesdays: Scrubs, Lost, American Idol
    Thursdays: The Office, 30 Rock, It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia

    I’ll admit that I end up taping a lot of these (as some have time overlaps), but I watch them all.

  4. Bill March 16, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    Mondays: Heroes
    Tuesdays: Scrubs (is it on Wednesday now? I don’t know, I DVR everything anyway)
    Thursdays: 30 Rock, The Office
    Saturdays: whichever of Nigella Lawson’s two differently named but identical shows the Food Network shows at like 7am (again, of course, DVRed)

    Usually watch The Daily Show and Colbert 2-3 times a week and probably 2/3 of the American Idol episodes. The only show, maybe in world history, that’s *always* worth watching is 30 Rock.

  5. jjswol March 16, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    NCIS is the best show on TV by far. I also watch Mentalist, Survivor, and the Amazing Race.

  6. jjswol March 16, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    Oops, forgot to add 24.

  7. Michael M March 16, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    S: Amazing Race, The Unit
    M: Big Bang Theory, 24 (Cities of the Underworld)
    T: The Mentalist
    W: nada
    H: The Eleventh Hour
    F: Numbers
    S: nada

    I usually catch a few episodes of 2 1/2 Men (great show) and I watch Dexter on Showtime. Otherwise it is sports. TiVo rocks and makes life a lot easier.

  8. J. Lichty March 16, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    Seth and I could be married and by that I mean that he watches the same shows my wife does. Well at least the Sunday and THursday lineups.

    Only actual scripted shows I watch are Office on thursdays, flight of conchords on sunday and big love (not sure what day – watch them all on tivo). I like How I Met Your Mother, but I just watch the seasons on DVD and have never actually seen it on regular scheduled time.

    My guilty pleasure is the Hills on MTV which I will watch on occasion and I also liked it when they had the high school football show about a team in Alabama.

    Other than that it is sports (usually about 150 or so Twins games on the MLB package) or kids shows (with my kids, but that is usually just an excuse to close my eyes for 25 minutes or so).

  9. TheMix March 16, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    Sundays: Eastbound and Down
    Mondays: Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Chuck
    Tuesdays: Scrubs
    and 30 Rock on Thurs. every now and then.

    In my humble opinion, there’s no comedy on TV that even comes close to How I Met Your Mother. I like the Big Bang Theory, but there’s no real long plot line to hang on to. HIMYM is just a damn good show. I know at least a couple people whose “Friends” void was filled by HIMYM.

  10. the Dragon March 17, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    Monday: House, 24, Medium
    Tuesday: nothing
    Wednesday: Lie to Me
    Thursday: Earl
    Friday: Ghost Wisperer, Monk, Psyche

    Otherwise, If no sports, International History Channel (particularly Naked Archiologist), History Channel & Food Channel waiting to see if Paula Dean has a recipe that uses less than 1 stick of Butter).

    Regards,

  11. dan at work March 17, 2009 at 7:32 am #

    monday- monday night raw-
    tuesday- nothing, family time or read a good book
    wednesday- lost, then south park
    thursday-earl, csi
    friday monk psyche and smack down

  12. Jeff March 17, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    Monday: Chuck, 24 (Jack Bauer is The Man!)
    Wednesday: Lost (most mind blowing show currently on tv)
    Thursday: Greys Anatomy (really don’t know why anymore)

    Watch on network websites each week (do to scheduling reasons):
    Heroes: (really dropped off, but still addicted)
    Bones
    Fringe: has a chance to be pretty good.
    Friday Night Lights: (Incredible show! May be the best tv drama on right now!)

    TV shows currently watching on DVD:
    Battlestar Galactica (Another incredible show!)
    Alias

  13. Nick March 17, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    Ghost hunters is fake.

Leave a Reply

