MLBTR Fantasy Draft

25 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

Tonight I participated in my second fantasy baseball draft of the year. Fantasy baseball is a wonderful thing for the baseball fan, and that is why I have chosen to include my rosters, if only to give the readers an idea of where some players are going. If you care to comment on the team, where it is weak, where it is strong, any recommendations, please feel free to do so. Tim Dierkes of MLBTradeRumors.com e-mailed me a couple months ago and asked if I was interested in participating in his 2009 Baseball Bloggers League. Of course the answer was Yes! The league consists of Tim, myself and ten top baseball bloggers from around the league. Here are the bloggers in the league with links to their sites:

1.  MLB Trade RumorsTim Dierkes
2.  River Ave. BluesJoe Pawlikowski
3.  Rays IndexCork Gaines
4.  NPB Tracker
Patrick Newman
5.  ShysterballCraig Calcaterra
6.  DesipioAndy Dolan
7. Drunk Jays FansAndrew Stoeten
8. MetsBlogMike Nichols
9. Sox MachineJim Margalus
10. Big League StewKevin Kaduk and Dave Brown
11.  McCovey ChroniclesGrant Brisbee
12. Seth SpeaksSeth Stohs

 

So as you can see, it’s a 12 team league. 5×5 rotisserie league (R, HR, RBI, SB, AVG, W, SV, K, ERA, WHIP). Each team will have 14 hitters, here are the positions: C, C, 1B, 2B, SS, 3B, MI, CI, OF, OF, OF, OF, OF, DH. Each team will have 9 pitchers.  2 must be relievers, 2 must be starters, and the rest is up to you. Each team will also have 3 bench spots and 2 DL spots. I drafted in the 10th spot of a serpentine draft.

 

Below is my team after a solid draft. What do you think? Feel free to Comment here.

 

Fantasy Baseball Draft #2 –

  

1.      Josh Hamilton – OF – Texas Rangers

2.      Evan Longoria – 3B – Tampa Bay Rays

3.      Jason Bay – OF – Boston Red Sox

4.      Brandon Phillips – 2B – Cincinnati Reds

5.      Cole Hamels – SP – Philadelphia Phillies

6.      Joe Nathan – RP – Minnesota Twins

7.      Josh Beckett – SP – Boston Red Sox

8.      Daisuke Matsuzaka – SP – Boston Red Sox

9.      Matt Weiters – C – Baltimore Orioles

10.  Howie Kendrick – 1B – LA Angels of Anaheim

11.  Carlos Marmol – RP – Chicago Cubs

12.  Kevin Slowey – SP – Minnesota Twins

13.  Conor Jackson – 1B/OF – Arizona Diamondbacks

14.  David Price – LHP – Tampa Bay Rays

15.  Scott Baker – SP – Minnesota Twins

16.  Carlos Guillen – 1B/3B/OF – Detroit Tigers

17.  Kelly Shoppach – C – Cleveland Indians

18.  Fausto Carmona – SP – Cleveland Indians

19.  Jason Kubel – OF – Minnesota Twins

20.  Billy Butler – 1B – Kansas City Royals

21.  Jose Guillen – OF – Kansas City Royals

22.  Anthony Reyes – SP/RP – Cleveland Indians

23.  Oliver Perez – SP – New York Mets

24.  Michael Cuddyer – OF – Minnesota Twins

25.  Jason Bartlett – SS – Tampa Bay Rays

26.  Chris Coste – C – Philadelphia Phillies

 

I wasn’t real happy in the middle of the draft, but I happen to feel really good about this team. It is deep. I think I got some really good veterans late, as well as some guys who have shown plenty of glimpses. I did take a lot of Twins, but I really don’t believe that I took any of them earlier than I should have. Jason Kubel, potentially the team’s #3 hitter to start the season, in the 19th round is good. Michael Cuddyer, who will likely be the team’s #5 hitter most of the year in the 24th round? Jason Bartlett? He was bad last year and yet still hit .286 and stole 20 bases. 20 steals from your 25th round pick is alright. And yes, I took Chris Coste with my last pick. I felt the need to carry a third catcher at least until we know whether or not Weiters will head north with the Orioles. And really, he can put up as good of offensive numbers as many of the starters in the league, so I’m fully comfortable with him. What do you think?

 

2 Responses to “MLBTR Fantasy Draft”

  1. halfchest March 26, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    In all fantasy drafts there needs to be a bit of homerness to it. It’s a lot more fun when some of the fantasy players also play for your favorite teams. I did this in 06 when I traded Ryan Howard for a top flight pitcher (can’t remember exactly who but it ended up working out pretty good) and I picked up Morneau to be my 1B. The trade would have been lopsided in my opponents favor except for the fact that Morneau tore it up and I won the league.

    I like that you’ve gotten some Twins and for good value as you pointed out. Heck Slowey’s the 7th best fantasy pitcher this year right? haha. Anyhow, looks like a solid team, good luck.

  2. TP March 26, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    I was surprised you didn’t land Max Scherzer and Clayton Kershaw.

Leave a Reply

