Busy Busy

2 Apr

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

I may not have pulled any April Fools jokes on Wednesday, and I didn’t have any pulled on me, but I do think it is fair to call me a fool. Busy would be an understatement, and I do it to myself. Here are some of the things that I have been working on:

·         Yesterday afternoon, there was a SethSpeaks.net Live Minnesota Twins Chat.

·         I participated in the BaseballDigest.com “Expert” Fantasy Baseball Draft last night (see below).

·         I had to send questions to someone in the Twins organization who contacted me the day before and expressed interest in doing a Q&A. I sent questions, and amazingly, received the answers less than two hours later. So that Q&A will be here tomorrow.

·         At Baseball Digest.com, the Twins writers posted their selections for American League and National League Breakout Player of the Year. Which players do we believe could bust out like Carlos Quentin a year ago?

·         I wrote this week’s StarTribune.com/yourvoices blog. With Opening Day fast approaching, I posted my Top 15 Baseball Movies list. I would love your feedback and your lists.

·         I also worked on a couple other projects that I will be involved in as the season starts that, at this time, I am unable to discuss, but be sure to check back for more information.

 

In the meantime, the rest of the world was unwilling to freeze for me, so there was still plenty going on, including:

·         Joe Christensen told us that the Twins received lefty Jose Lugo back from the Mariners. You will recall that the Oakland A’s selected Lugo from the Twins in December’s Rule 5 draft and immediately traded him to the Mariners. Unable to make that club, the Twins were happy to bring him back and will send him to New Britain to start the season.

·         He also mentioned that Scott Baker threw five innings in a minor league game yesterday which will be his final appearance before he starts the Twins home opener on Monday night.

·         Joe Nathan is the Answer Man. He answered many questions on baseball but plenty of other topics including all of his commercials at the yahoo.com blog Big League Stew.

·         Pat Neshek wrote about his first day of throwing, what he did and how it went.

·         I have heard from several players and people near the team where certain players will be beginning the 2009 season. I think there will be surprises, but it shouldn’t be terribly surprising, in some cases.  

 

Finally, I want to encourage everyone to check out this article about me and the Minnesota Twins Prospect Handbook that covered half of the front page of the sports section of last week’s Perham Enterprise Bulletin. It’s actually very good.

 

Any other Twins thoughts as the season approaches? Feel free to Comment here.

 

FANTASY DRAFT #4

Again, last night I participated in my fourth fantasy baseball draft of the spring. It is a twelve team, 5×5 roto league. I have another fantasy baseball draft tonight, and my final draft will be on Sunday afternoon.  Here are my draft picks from last night’s 30 round draft. Please note a couple of intricacies of this particular league. Two catchers play each week, and four relief pitchers play as well. Those two things altered my typical draft strategy somewhat. I had the #3 overall pick, which of course meant that I didn’t draft again until #24. Again, I share these to give you a feel for approximately where some players are being drafted.

 

1.)    David Wright – 3B – New York Mets

2.)    Justin Morneau – 1B – Minnesota Twins

3.)    Dustin Pedroia – 2B – Boston Red Sox

4.)    Joe Nathan – RP – Minnesota Twins

5.)    Geovany Soto – C – Chicago Cubs

6.)    Joakim Soria – RP – Kansas City Royals

7.)    Joe Mauer – C – Minnesota Twins

8.)    Daisuke Matsuzaka – SP – Boston Red Sox

9.)    Justin Verlander – SP – Detroit Tigers

10.)                         Pat Burrell – OF – Tampa Bay Rays

11.)                         Brad Hawpe – OF – Colorado Rockies

12.)                         Zack Greinke – SP – Kansas City Royals

13.)                         Kevin Slowey – SP – Minnesota Twins

14.)                         David Price – SP – Tampa Bay Rays

15.)                         Brett Myers – SP – Philadelphia Phillies

16.)                         Jed Lowrie – SS – Boston Red Sox

17.)                         Delmon Young – OF – Minnesota Twins

18.)                         Adrian Beltre – 3B – Seattle Mariners

19.)                         Jason Kubel – OF – Minnesota Twins

20.)                         Yunel Escobar – SS – Atlanta Braves

21.)                         Billy Butler – 1B – Kansas City Royals

22.)                         Cameron Maybin – OF – Florida Marlins

23.)                         Chris Volstad – SP – Florida Marlins

24.)                         James McDonald – SP – Los Angeles Dodgers

25.)                         Michael Cuddyer – OF – Minnesota Twins

26.)                         Joel Zumaya – RP – Detroit Tigers

27.)                         Joe Blanton – SP – Philadelphia Phillies

28.)                         Juan Cruz – RP – Kansas City Royals

29.)                         Jonathan Sanchez – SP – San Francisco Giants

30.)                         Chris Coste – C – Philadelphia Phillies

 

 

9 Responses to “Busy Busy”

  1. roger April 2, 2009 at 6:46 am #

    Seth, tried leaving a comment over at the Strib, couldn’t figure out how to register as they said I already was. Anyway, wanted to point out one of the best baseball movies ever that almost no one knows about. It was a 1987 movie called “Long Gone.” It is basically the same story and movie as Bull Durham, except it was made for television and was out a little bit before Bull Durham hit the big screen. The stars were Williams Peterson of CSI fame and the gal was Virginia Madsen. Two great stars, although a bit before they were so well known.

  2. Marc April 2, 2009 at 7:47 am #

    How did you not put The Sandlot as one of the best baseball movies?

  3. JJ Metz April 2, 2009 at 10:22 am #

    Rookie of the Year? Are you kidding me? I would recommend removing that from the list if you want to continue to be taken seriously as a baseball fan.

  4. Jake April 2, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    I agree with Roger on “Long Gone.” Wonderful movie that really celebrates the joy of baseball. I also believe La Velle III indicated last year it was his favorite baseball movie. Unfortunately it’s not available on DVD.

  5. Matt April 2, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Baker will start the season on the DL according to an updated Strib blog, not good news… Hopefully it’s just the first two weeks of the season.

  6. TJ Walsh April 2, 2009 at 4:22 pm #

    Have you seen the baseball movie about Norway Iowa High School baseball. The Final Season I think. That would make my top 10. My son Pat kept saying why is Rudy coaching the baseball team J

  7. Mark Dawson April 2, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    Just a gut feeling, but a strong one, Cuddyer & Young will both have breakout years and that, with the twins pitching will alow a cruise into the Am Central title. You heard it here first!!!

  8. Nils April 2, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Seth, it seems like you have picked David Price in every draft you have posted, what gives?

  9. norm silta April 3, 2009 at 12:03 am #

    Seth,
    I have never seen a baseball movie I didn’t like so I won’t argue about your picks. But I must mention the first baseball movie I ever saw – Fear Strikes Out. I know Mr Peirsal did not approve of the movie but it has some very good scenes about the father son relationship. I have thought of it often when I coach and work with my kids.

Leave a Reply

