NOOOOO!!!!

30 Jun

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

The struggles of the newspaper business took more victims today, local victims, and Twins fans should be upset about this one. I happened to see on Aaron Gleeman’s blog that MinnPost’s David Brauer is reporting that the St. Paul Pioneer Press has laid off Twins beat writer Phil Miller. This is just horrible news not only because Miller is a tremendous person who has taken time several times to call in to the SethSpeaks.net Weekly Minnesota Twins podcast, but also because he is a terrific writer who has his own style that is very enjoyable to read. I wish there was something that we could do as a Twins fan community to make the Pioneer Press reconsider their decision. Maybe an online petition or something! I’d happily put my name on that list. Until then, I obviously wish Phil Miller well as he looks to his next career endeavor.    

Any thoughts? Leave your Comments here.

11 Responses to “NOOOOO!!!!”

  1. thrylos98 June 30, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    Awful news, I know…

    here is his last article:

    http://www.twincities.com/twins/ci_12717969

    I think that it might be appropriate for the ones who feel so to leave some words of encouragement there for Phil.

  2. thrylos98 June 30, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    I wish there was something that we could do as a Twins fan community to make the Pioneer Press reconsider their decision.

    On this: a. A massive cancellation of subscriptions with the reason of the cancellation stated as the letting go of Phil Miller b. a boycott of their online site (So they do not make money from ad impressions) c, the boycott of buying newsstand copies of their paper could help. But it has to be sizable like a 5-10% cancellation of current subscriptions and reduction to the newsstands sales and a 30-50% drop to the number of hits on their Twins’ site will help. I cannot do a and c above, since I am not local, but I am not going over to that site other than today. Encouraging notes to Phil on their web site would also help.

  3. Andy Darsow June 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    thrylos98. That only makes things worse for someone else. It is too bad, no industry is a good industry to be in right now. It is unfortunate and I’m sure someone will hire Phil as he does a great job.

  4. thrylos98 June 30, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Andy,

    it is not only about Phil (and it is a lot about Phil) if you think about it. By cutting the Twins’ coverage (and keeping people like Walters on the payroll) this newspaper says that the Twins do not matter as much as the local news from Eden Prairie or wherever for that matter. It is a slap on the face of the Twins’ fans and I think that the fans have to respond…

  5. Topper June 30, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    Wow, yeah, I didn’t think of the fact that Shooter is still employed there. Phil is an amazing sports man and that just puts this even more in perspective! No Pioneer Press articles online for me anymore!

  6. Andy Darsow June 30, 2009 at 4:00 pm #

    It does hurt Twins fans but the bottom line is that there is more important news out there than sports. I am a Pioneer Press subscriber and I can say that Charlie Walters is the first column I read everyday. There is no way they are going to let him go. He has been there forever and overall does a good job. He is the “Sid” the of the Pioneer Press. It hurts, I can’t understand why they couldn’t have cut in a different area (entertainment or something like that). You can’t cut local or world news because that stuff is just more important and I am a huge sports fan. I’m not saying I am happy about it but it is no reason to stop buying the Pioneer Press. These things happen and the economy sucks right now. Unfortunately I have a feeling that newspapers will be online before too long. I’m just saying it is no reason to stop buying the Twins paper or file any sort of petition, that is just ridiculous.

  7. Seth June 30, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    I definitely agree with Andy here. It is part of the business as it is right now, and that’s too bad. And to that point, many people do believe that the news in Eden Prairie is pretty important. They had to make decisions and they made them. We don’t have to like them.

  8. Andy Darsow June 30, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

    Don’t get me wrong here, I’m by no means saying I agree with the decision. There are a lot of people in the last six months that have gotten laid off in many different markets. All I am saying is that it is out of our control and we don’t know the situation at the Press to really hold it against them. Phil did a great job of reporting on the Twins and it is too bad. He will land on his feet somewhere and hopefully he is still talking Twins baseball when he does.

  9. jjswol July 1, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    I will miss Phil. I thought that Phil provided the best Twins spring training coverage of any reporter in the Twin Cities and I am a Star Trib subscriber. I think that fair, accurate and timely reporting were his best attributes. Good luck Phil in the job hunt, it is tough out there. I will miss your Twins coverage.

  10. Shawn in Binghamton July 1, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    Good Luck on the job hunt Phil. I always got a kick out of his stories. Especially seeing Gomez at the theater in KC.

  11. Shawn Miller July 3, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    Why didn’t you mention the debut of Brian “BullDozer” Dozier for GCL Twins???

    How ‘Bout That BullDozer!!!

Leave a Reply

