Twins Fest – Day 2

31 Jan

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

Seriously, my family is cool. On Friday night, they wanted to come to Twins Fest. On Saturday, they knew that I wanted to go back to Twins Fest, so my parents and sister spent the day watching my daughter while I got to spend the entire day at Twins Fest. Even better, they cleaned my entire place! How cool is that?!

So, here is a very brief rundown a very full day. (Photo – Right to Left: David Bromberg, Steve Tolleson, Ben Revere, Kyle Gibson)

Right to Left: David Bromberg, Steve Tolleson, Ben Revere, Kyle Gibson.

  • I am not a collector of autographs, for the most part, so I have learned that standing outside in the cold to rush to a line and hope to get an autograph is something I have no interest in. The gates opened this morning at 9:00, but I didn’t get there until about 9:45. I was able to walk right in!
  • It was a lot of fun being introduced and meeting several Twins bloggers. First, I spent some time hanging out with Topper Anton of Curve for a Strike. We met up with John Bonnes, aka The Twins Geek. Later, we were introduced to Fanatic Jack himself, Jack Steal.
  • John and I spent some time at the Star-Tribune booth talking with Howard Sinker (Section 219) and his lovely fiancé. While there, I got some cool AccessTwins.com, root beer flavored lip balm from LaVelle E. Neal. Got to talk with Joe Christensen for awhile as well. I was also introduced to Twins Assistant GM Rob Antony.
  • While at the Star Tribune area, I was able to meet several of you who read this blog, which was very cool.
  • I also got to meet a few bloggers that I had never met. I met Kirsten from K-Bro’s Baseball Blog and Betsy from For the Love of the Game.
  • I talked briefly with KSTP’s Joe Anderson and then listened to he and John Gordon interview Kyle Gibson, Trevor Plouffe, Drew Butera, Aaron Hicks and Rene Tosoni. Then a bit later, Pat Neshek.
  • Pat Neshek normally breaks bats. Here, he signs one.

    I was able to talk a bit with David Bromberg before talking to a member of the Twins front office for 20 minutes or so, which is always fun to do. I learn a lot.

 I started writing this Saturday night, but was so tired that I fell asleep fairly early and finished Sunday morning. It’s probably not exactly complete, but I’ll add more when I do my day 3 entry later tonight. Today will be another busy day. Church, then back to Twins Fest with the young’n for awhile at least. I posted a couple of pictures on here, but if you would like to see more, you can see them on my Facebook page. Although I haven’t figured out how to Tweet from my phone, you can also follow me in Twitter @sethtweets. And, of course, you can still pre-order the SethSpeaks.net Minnesota Twins 2010 Prospect Handbook by clicking here

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to e-mail me or leave them in the Comments section.

3 Responses to “Twins Fest – Day 2”

  1. Dave January 31, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Hope you got some zzzzs. Keep those reports coming. I love ’em.

  2. Ian January 31, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Sounds like a lot of fun. Forgot to mention you have a cute daughter, too.

  3. joelthing January 31, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Yeah, the whole thing about standing outside in the cold. Nah. Not necessary. And many of the lines, you have a 50-50 chance of showing up 15 minutes before they close and just walking thru — at least on the floor.

    Who’d have thought…sitting up in the radio stands with the wife listening to the interviews and who comes walking up the steps but ol’ Seth!

    Neal, Christensen and Sinker got a kick when I asked them to sign the TwinsFest promo ad from the StarTribune!

Leave a Reply

