Spring Training Q&A: Dan Osterbrock

8 Mar

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

After the Twins selected Dan Osterbrock out of the University of Cincinnati in 2008, he went to Elizabethton and was the Appalachian League Pitcher of the Year. He moved up to Beloit in 2009 and struggled with consistency, but he clearly has pitches and impeccable control (which will have to continue to get even better), so he has a chance to keep advancing. He should move up to Ft. Myers to start the 2010 season. Here is today’s Q&A with Twins left-handed pitcher, Dan Osterbrock. (To see all previous SethSpeaks.net Q&As, click here) (and feel free to leave questions or comments here)

…Let the Questions Begin!

SethSpeaks: Now that you’ve had a few months to look back and reflect, what are your thoughts on your 2009 season?

Dan Osterbrock: I have mixed feelings about my 2009 season. I never really seemed to be able to string together a lot of good starts. I would have a few good outings in a row but then I’d have a really bad one that set me back. So I was happy with most of my season but disappointed with about 6 or 7 starts.

SethSpeaks: What do you do when you’re not playing baseball or working out in preparation for the upcoming season?

Dan Osterbrock: This past offseason when I wasn’t playing baseball I just went back to work at Spring Grove Cemetery in Cincinnati. During the season when I’m not at the field I enjoy fishing.

SethSpeaks: When did you start getting ready for the 2010 season, and what was your routine?

Dan Osterbrock: I started getting ready for this season the first week of January. I used to go to the University of Cincinnati and work out with the baseball team. But then it really started getting cold so I came down to Ft. Myers on February 2nd, and I’ve been throwing and working out every day.

SethSpeaks: What are your goals for the 2010 season? Where would you like to play, and are there any statistics that you are looking to improve?

Dan Osterbrock: This upcoming season I’d like to make the Ft. Myers team and this year I’d really like to lower my ERA and have more consistency.

SethSpeaks:  What does spring training mean for you, and what are you looking forward to this year?

Dan Osterbrock: I’m really excited about my first spring training. I remember when i was growing up my family and I would drive from Colorado to Arizona to watch spring training and now I’m going to be playing in it, it’s a dream come true for me.

SethSpeaks: Who was your favorite player to watch when you were growing up?

Dan Osterbrock: My favorite player to watch growing up was probably Eric Davis. I always wanted to be an outfielder just like him but unfortunately I can’t hit.

SethSpeaks: What team did you grow up watching and cheering for?

Dan Osterbrock: I was born and raised in Cincinnati so the Reds were my favorite team.

SethSpeaks: What do you remember about the draft and events leading up to your signings?

Dan Osterbrock: Since the Twins are in the American League I never really followed them too much. So when I was drafted I didn’t know that much about them but after talking to some people I learned they are really good at developing pitchers.

SethSpeaks: Best thing of career in baseball?

Dan Osterbrock: My favorite thing about a career in baseball is meeting new people, traveling and the competition.

SethSpeaks:  Funniest story in your minor league career?

Dan Osterbrock: I don’t really have one really funny story but a lot of the guys in Beloit were pranksters. Billy Bullock once glued my shoes together, an anonymous person on the team had some stink bombs that would go off at random times in the clubhouse, and me and Brad Tippett would superglue quarters to the ground and watch fans try to pick them up.

SethSpeaks: What would it mean to make your big league debut?

Dan Osterbrock: Making my major league debut would be a dream come true. Being a baseball player is the only thing I’ve ever wanted to do my entire life.

Thank you so much to Dan Osterbrock for his time and responses to all the questions. If you would like, you can e-mail me, or feel free to leave your comments here. 

One Response to “Spring Training Q&A: Dan Osterbrock”

  1. mike wants wins March 9, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Dan, thanks for taking the time. I love that coin glued to the ground prank. It just works time after time, and always makes me laugh. good luck in spring training and your career.

Leave a Reply

