Monday Musings

17 Oct

also available at www.SethSpeaks.net

Happy Monday morning to all of you Twins fans out there!! And to all the Vikings fans, I hope you are doing alright this morning! Another impressive performance from the purple. I think that Mr. McNabb gets one more start, but that Christian Ponder will get the nod against Cam Newton and the Panthers in two weeks. Thankfully, there was the NLCS to watch. Of course, by the time I flipped that on, it was 9-4 Cardinals, so that series was pretty much over. I was pulling for the Brewers, but in reality, couldn’t care less about any of the teams in the playoffs. It’s incredible how little playoff baseball I’ve watched. I don’t know if that’s the result of the Twins horrendous season of poor baseball that I just don’t feel like watching. Maybe it’s all the people complaining about how well some of the former Twins are doing. I don’t know. Thankfully, I was able to watch an all new Kendra!

With that admittance, here are some quick thoughts for you to start your week with:

  • Expect to hear a couple of big TwinsCentric announcements over the next week or so. Yes, one of them has to do with the Offseason GM Handbook. It has become the staple product of TwinsCentric. I believe this year’s version will have about 140 pages of Twins content. It looks pretty cool, and there is so much information there to help you make informed decisions about what you would do in the offseason so that you can second guess everything that the Twins front office does.
  • I am going pretty heavily now into development of my fourth Minnesota Twins Prospect Handbook. It’s hard to believe that it will be the fourth book I’ve put out. Doesn’t seem that long ago that a reader told me that I should put one together. The first book took all of about 3 weeks to write. I’d like to think that the quality of the work is much better at this point, much more content on the players from stats to first-hand scouting reports. That will hopefully be available around the New Year. As I’m researching and writing it, did you know that Chris Parmelee ended the season with 97 RBI? I’m not sure why that number stood out to me, but it’s pretty impressive.
  • As we approach Halloween, I’m thrilled to note that a character somewhat written after me has finally been killed off! In Part 33 of the Cedar Falls Hoose-Cows saga, ironically titled Seth’s Death, the character is no more. I don’t know why, but that’s pretty cool! Hopefully many of you have been keeping up with the Hoose-Cows throughout the season!
  • Over at Twinkie Town, be sure to check out Roger’s New Britain Rock Cats recap.
  • Nick Nelson wrote about Incremental Upgrades in discussing some of the Twins minor moves from late last week. The Twins, on Friday afternoon, announced the Nick Blackburn and Alexi Casilla were being reinstated from the 60 Day Disabled List. The Twins also announced that Jason Repko, Matt Tolbert, Rene Rivera and Anthony Slama had been out-righted to AAA Rochester. Slama signed in early 2007, so he will stay in the Twins organization unless he would be selected in the Rule 5 draft. The others can become 6-year minor league free agents.
  • Granny Baseball discusses aging players.
  • You’ll want to check out Aaron Gleeman’s Twins Notes.
  • Hopefully you all have bookmarked Todd Van Steensel’s terrific Clubhouse Chronicles. His updated from Panama were great too.  
  • Puckett’s Pond tells us that a Twins Elite Hitter Must Get Healthy. Yup! It’s interesting that everyone will have a plan for who the Twins should add and how much money should be spent, but if Denard Span, Joe Mauer and Justin Morneau aren’t healthy in 2012, it really doesn’t matter.
  • NoDak Twins Fan says that Nick Punto should be left off the Twins Wish List.

Please feel free to comment in the Comments Section.

Leave a Reply

